The Worcester Diocesan Board of Finance | Christian Vocations

The Worcester Diocesan Board of Finance

Type: Church
The Diocese of Worcester is one of 42 that make up the Church of England

The diocese covers an area of 670 square miles and includes the County of Worcestershire, the Metropolitan Borough of Dudley, and a few parishes in northern Gloucestershire, south east Wolverhampton and Sandwell - so we are not short on variety. 

From the urban north, with its impressive history and cultural mix, to the agricultural south where the rich colours of rural life flavour many people's day to day experience, the diocese has much to offer to visitor, resident and worshipper alike.

The diocese was founded in around 679 by St Theodore of Canterbury for the tribe of the Hwicce. Today the diocese covers a population of 895,000. We have 92 benefices, 169 parishes and 274 churches.